Whimsical Lights

This week we are going to make whimsical lights. This project is very easy but you can make these in so many different ways. I chose to make a simpler option. The only complaint I had about this project was the price. I had the string lights laying around my house but I had to buy the ping pong balls. I went to my local Target and chose to buy a large box of 36 for $10. My string lights had 100 bulbs so I had to buy three boxes. My total cost for this project was over $30 because ping pong balls were so expensive.

This is where your all probably thinking $30 isn’t that bad but Im a cheep ass. I love thrifting, repurposing, garage sales and flea markets. I am also a large advocate for coupons. I hate paying full price for something and this was one of the major reasons I got into DIYs in the first place. I am a college and while yes I work and make more money than most college students I don’t like to spend it. So if there is going to be a common theme on my blog it would probably be cheep but high quality. Also I will always try to put where I bought my supplies from and about how much they are so you will know how much a project costs.

For this project you will nee:
-one strand of lights
-enough ping pong balls for each light on the strand
-an exacto knife

After gather all your supplies your going to want to cut a small X into all the ping pong balls. The X only needs to be big enough to fight the light through.

IMG_0996

After that all you have to do is put each ball onto the lights.

Once have have all the ping pong balls on your finished. I chose to use multi colored lights so that my ping pong balls would look colorful but you could do so many different things with these to give them a different effect.

Other ideas:

  • Use white lights with colored ping pong balls
  • Painting the ping pong balls and using while lights
  • covering the balls in a thing layer os glitter to add some extra shine
  • glueing the balls together to make a specific shape or sculpture

Here are some pictures of other option that I found on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

