Drink, Reuse, Recycle

Do you ever just sit and think about all trash we produce and where it all ends up? I do and if I think about it while I’m throwing something away it concerns me. As you know, I have been working on organizing my craft room and I have been creating a lot of trash. I was thinking a great way to recycle some of my “trash” would be to use it in a DIY project.

This project is one I have been doing for a little while now. They make great gifts and decor. For this project we are going to recycle wine bottles. This has been a big trend on Pinterest and is constantly popping up on my feed. I am going to show you a couple ways to decorate wine bottles. You could use any type of glass bottle for this project, not all of mine had wine in them. I would also like to let you know that I did not drink all of this myself. My good friend works at a bar and supplies me with the majority of my bottles.

There are many different ways to decorate bottles. You could take the simple approach and paint the bottle. You could also get very detailed with a bottle. I find this project to be very relaxing and it brings out my creativity, since you could decorate a bottle so many different ways. My most recent bottles were a set of beach themed bottles. One of them took me about two and a half hours to make while the other on took me maybe an hour. It honestly all depends on how detailed you want your bottle to be.

Since there are endless possibilities on decorating bottles, I am going to create several post on how I decorated a bottle and share them with you through out the week. Today I am going to share with you some tips and tricks I have learned when decorating.

The one thing I hate about this project is the waiting process. The bottles often have several layers of decor to them, so you have to wait for each layer to dry or set before adding the next. Other than that I really enjoy these projects and they are something that you cannot buy in any store.

Tips and Tricks

  • To easily clean the label of off bottles soak them in very hot water until the water is about room temperature. The label should easily peel off. If there is any glue left use a scrubby sponge and soap to clean it off. You want to make sure the bottle is completely clean and that there is not glue left on the bottle. If there is glue left on the bottle it will be visible once you paint the bottle.
  • Right before painting the bottle wiping it off with rubbing alcohol will prime the surface.
  • When paining a bottle I highly recommend spray paint, at least when priming. For my very first bottle I tried to hand paint the bottle. When I was priming it was streaky and I had to let the bottle dry over night before being able to apply the second coat of primer. Using spray primer takes about 20 minutes and looks 100% better.
  • HOT GLUE DOES NOT STICK TO GLASS. This makes me very mad but it is true. It was very disappointing when I used hot glue on my first bottle and a few weeks later when I went to move it all my glass marbles feel off. So learn from my mistake and use the E6000 craft glue that I frequently use. I have found when glueing ribbon to a painted bottle hot glue works. It also works if you are not glueing directly to the bare glass. IMG_0962
  • Something else I would recommend is when painting a bottle keep in mind that you are working on a curved surface. Meaning that if you are going to add detail when looking at the bottle the detail on the sides will not look that same as when looking head on. You may need to adjust a design if you want it to look a certain way from a specific angle.

With my personal bottles I use acrylic paint 99% of the time. I have never baked any of my bottles so they are not water proof and should not be washed.I also like the mate look of the paint on the bottle so I usually do not seal my bottles. I glue decorations onto my bottles that is also why I do not seal them. The bottles that I have sealed I used mod podge because I like the control I have.

This project definitely takes patience but the results are worth it. Any of the processes and designs I am creating can be done on almost any glass. Other types of glass you could decorate if you do not want to use a bottle would be mason jars, vases, and even cups. Just keep in mind that they are not water proof and cannot be washed.

I am going to post step by step instructions of how to prime your bottle and decorate them through out the week. Keep in mind you can make any decoration you would like and if you could incorporate something recycled into the project it would be even better.

One thought on “Drink, Reuse, Recycle

Leave a Reply

