How to Make your New Years Resolution Come True

The year is quickly coming to an end and I know we are all thinking about our New Years resolution. This is a hard decision in a way because we want to set goals that we can realistically reach. So we look back on what we did this year and see if we achieved the new years resolution we set last year. If you are like me your answer is yes and no. I always set more than one goal. So if I achieve one of my goals in the beginning of the year I have something else to work towards the rest of the year.

goals.png

So when setting my goals they are not something I think of in 20 minutes and decide that is what I am going to do. My resolutions have to meet a few specifications such as…

  1. Is it realistic?
    Is there an actual possibility that I could achieve this goal in 365 days while also living a life.
  2. In 5 years with this goal have made a difference in my life?
    If I lose 20 pounds this year but in 5 years have gained one hundred then that 20 pound weight loss doesn’t really matter. But if I transition my eating and activity habits to incorporate more healthy decisions then continuing those habits in 5 years will make a difference.
  3. How will it effect others?
    Losing 20 pounds benefits yourself but having a healthier eating habit may encourage others around you to eat healthy as well.
  4. How important is it to me?
    Personally I am more motivated to achieve a goal if it is important to me. Don’t make your new years resolutions about pleasing others or trying to become someone your not.

Once I have created my list I then go back and check it several times. After I know everything on my list is 100% staying on my list then I add in details. Details are important because then you know in six months what you were talking about when you said get healthy. Ok I ate a salad today thats healthy so check it off the list. NO! Add details in, set a set when you want to have it completed by, where your going to do it, with who, and why.

Example: In the year 2017 I, Marissa, want to live a healthier life style. I want to incorporate my boyfriend and encourage him to be healthy as well. I want to eat healthy meals and get involved in more physical activity. I will learn one new healthy recipe a week and expand my meal prep options. I will also participate in seven hours of physical activity a week. I understand it may take time to fit this into my schedule so I will give myself till April 1st to work up to seven hours of physical activity a week.

When thinking of your new years resolutions don’t set yourself up to fail. Truly take an hour to sit down and think about your goals and objectives for 2017. Then write it out, type it up, and get creative. Just document your goals and dead lines in a way to motivate yourself to achieve your new years resolutions. Another thing you could do it encourage other to hold you accountable. Tell them to nag you about thing you want to change or goals you want to achieve.

I hope all of this helps you and gets you thinking in more detail about your goals for the new year. Leave a comment below of something you want to achieve for 2017 so others can get ideas and get inspired. One of my goals is to build a better blog and become a better blogger. Also to do some pretty awesome and unique DIYs on 2017.

Leave a Reply

